Lone Survivor, A Widow’s Quick Review

Standard

I watched Lone Survivor this weekend and I wanted to share my thoughts on it.

FIrst, I couldn’t help but think of the spouses and families of these men that watched the movie. It had to be incredibly emotional.

Overall, I thought they did a great job with the movie, there were some things changed/added, that I don’t think were necessary but those that haven’t read the book won’t know any different. It was a little disheartening to hear people in line say “What is Lone Survivor?” and as the movie started “This is a true story?”.

Then I realized, the movie is doing exactly what it should, bringing awareness to those that don’t know much about our military and making the legacy of these men known on a huge scale so that they will always be remembered, as well as inspire the next generation. There are, of course,multiple reasons why this is so important to me.

The part of the movie that made me most emotional was after it ended and real photos of men and their families were shown. I couldn’t keep it together through that. Make sure you stay through the entire thing and show your respect for all the men and families after the movie. It is my hope that from this film American’s gain a new understanding and respect for our Military men and women.

#NeverGiveUp Chelsey Stimson

Image

2 thoughts on “Lone Survivor, A Widow’s Quick Review

  1. Good review Chelsey. I’m really glad that this movie decided to focus most of its attention on the soldiers, rather than the actual war they were fighting and why it was happening. Gives you a more understandable-idea that these are in fact humans we’re dealing with here, and it deserves to be seen.

  2. Great review – I agree that there are so many folks that just don’t know about the experiences of our troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. I don’t feel like – even with embedded media – that we got a real glimpse of the horrors our sons and daughters experienced in Iraq and Afghanistan. Have you read “Lions of Kandahar”? While a vivid description of combat, I walked away with a feeling of awe for what our soldiers lived through every day while there.

    Chris A.

Leave a Reply

