There Is No Such Thing As A Small Act Of Kindness

Standard

One of my new favorite songs is “Do Something” by Matthew West. It got me thinking even more about helping others, non-profits and paying it forward.

 

There are so many great organizations out there doing great things, which is really wonderful! I am so grateful for all those that dedicate themselves to helping others. There are so many worthy causes it is easy to be overwhelmed when you go to look of where to donate or raise money for! 

But that is not really what I have been thinking about the most. What I have been stuck on lately was that it seems that some people think that everything has to be done in a big way and if you aren’t giving or raising a lot of money that you aren’t doing enough and it really isn’t worth noticing.

I think that is sad and not how I look at things at all.

EVERYONE can do something without spending a dollar and the last thing I would ever want to do is discourage someone from making a difference, no matter how small it may SEEM (key word is seem).

EVERY act creates a ripple effect.

Some people mentioned that they couldn’t afford to donate money during Tyler’s Random Act of Kindness event for his birthday. I wanted to make sure everyone understood that is NOT what is was about at all! Picking up that trash that you drive past every day, calling that friend you know is going through a hard time, donating clothes that are just sitting in your closet, donating to a charity or volunteering at the animal shelter, saying a prayer for a stranger, no one kind act is better than another. It ALL makes a difference! Just do whatever you can and what speaks to your heart! Do that and you can’t go wrong.

Just the act of listening or kindness to a stranger done with pure intentions in your heart can change someone’s whole day or even their life! I am blessed to say this from experience.

I remember what I appreciated most when Tyler passed away was people who could just sit with me and only say “this sucks”.

Yep. That pretty much summed it up and their caring presence was the most valuable thing they could have given me. Friends would call and check up on me or stop by and what did that cost them? Their TIME. I would say that it is not money that is the most valuable or helpful thing we can give, really our time and attention is most valuable.

So, where is I am going with this? I guess what I wanted to say was EVERY act of kindness, no matter how big or small, it all matters as long as it is coming from your heart.

If you can’t give money but can go out of your way to listen to someone who really needs it, well my friend, you can’t put a price on that! Don’t ever feel like what you have to offer isn’t good enough, big enough, or important enough. Don’t let anyone discourage you from doing what you can! Just do SOMETHING. 

Image

Never Give Up!

Chelsey

http://www.facebook.com/chelseystimson

Leave a Reply

